American Institute of Architects; Elevating Architectural Profession

Background Information

American Institute of Architects (AIA) is an organization for architectural profession in the United States. It was established by a group of thirteen architects in 1857 in New York City. The founders aimed at promoting the practical, artistic and scientific profession of its members. The organization headquarters is in Washington DC. Robert Ivy is currently the Chief Executive Officer and the Executive Vice President of AIA.

AIA is managed by a board of directors. It has over two hundred full-time workers. It has operated with other people of the construction and design team to improve the building industry. The organization has about three hundred state and local components throughout Europe, the United States, Japan, United Kingdom and Hong Kong.

Services Offered

American Institute of Architects provides community redevelopment, education, government advocacy and public outreach to improve the public image of the organization.

The organization offers its members professional development opportunities, personal benefits, professional design information services, client-oriented resources, and contract documents which are the model for the construction and design industry.

The American Institute of Architects raises public awareness regarding the importance of architecture and good design.

Membership Levels

American Institute of Architects has more than ninety thousand licensed architects as members. All members must observe professional conduct and code of ethics. This assures the public, colleagues, and clients that the organization is dedicated to offering quality standards in professionalism.

The membership levels in AIA include;

AIA Architect members. These members are licensed by a licensing authority in the US.

Associate members of AIA. They are not licensed, but they work under the supervision of professional architects. They also consist of individuals who have professional degrees in architecture, interns working towards obtaining a license or members of a university program.

AIA International associate members. They have architecture license from a licensing authority outside the US.

Emeritus members are those that have been in the organization for 15 consecutive years and cannot work in the architecture organization or are above sixty-five years old.

Allied members are those whose careers are related to the design and building sector for example engineers.

The Fellow of the American Institute of Architects (FAIA) membership honor is awarded to members who have made significant contributions nationally to the profession.

Robert Ivy

Robert ivy has a Bachelor of Arts in English from Sewanee: The University of the South. He later attended Tulane University and was awarded a Masters of Architecture. In 2011, he was named the CEO of American Institute of Architects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *